View Previous Years Scholarship Recipients

The 2019-2020 Scholarship Recipients:

Samuel Friedman, Reisterstown, MD

Samuel is a graduate of Franklin High School in Baltimore County. He currently volunteers as an EMT at Chestnut Volunteer Fire Company. Upon graduation from UMBC with a degree in Emergency Health Services in May 2020, he intends to seek employment with either Anne Arundel County of Baltimore County Fire departments.

Haley Myers, Baltimore, MD

Haley is a student at UMBC majoring in Emergency Health Services. She is a graduate of Catonsville High School. In addition to her duties as a volunteer at the Arbutus Volunteer Fire Department, she has done volunteer construction work in Miraflores Peru, taught English in Thailand, and performed clinical work in Cusco, Peru. Upon graduation in 2021 she intends to seek employment with the Baltimore Fire Department or Howard County Fire Department.

John Nolan, Towson, MD

John graduated from Dulaney High School in 2016. He will complete his studies at UMBC in Emergency Health Services in May. He is a member of the Providence Volunteer Fire Company and was the “Firefighter of the Year” in 2017. He also volunteers at the Arbutus Volunteer Fire Department. He hopes to join the Baltimore Fire Department or the Baltimore County Fire Department after graduation.

Steven Sage, Phoenix, MD

Steven joined the Jacksonville Volunteer Fire Company while attending Dulaney High School. Also a student at UMBC Majoring in Emergency Health Services, he intends to join the Baltimore County, Howard County, or Prince Georges County Fire Department.

Jamey Sultan, Chevy Chase, MD

Jamey is a 2015 graduate of Montgomery Blair High School in Silver Spring. He volunteers at the Baltimore Animal Rescue and the Arbutus Volunteer Fire Company. Upon graduation from UMBC with his degree in Emergency Health Services in May, he hopes to be employed by either Howard County, Montgomery County, or Baltimore Fire Department.

The John Armiger Scholarship Fund, Inc. is pleased to recognize the recipients of the John Armiger Scholarship. The scholarship fund was established in 2011 in appreciation of the Armiger family and their contribution to Maryland's Fallen Heroes. Since our inception, the Board of Trustees has awarded over $45,000 in scholarships to 39 college students attending a variety of Maryland colleges and universities.

To qualify for the scholarship, applicants must be a full time student attending a Maryland college or university, show a commitment to community service, have at least 30 college credits, and intend to seek a career within the sworn ranks of a Maryland public safety agency.

The inaugural scholarship recipients come from across the state and have career aspirations in police, fire and EMS service.

To see the qualifications and apply
please click here.